Photo

Compass & Navigation Tools - AKA, How I Found My Friends II.

Compass Navigation Suggestions

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 harrisonosirrah

harrisonosirrah

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 533 posts
  • Steam ID:harrisonosirrah
  • LocationNH

Posted 26 March 2015 - 04:12 PM

While playing in the backer's alpha, a few of us players found the need to designate a North end of the map. We decided that the Administration building is at the north end of the map. In other words, that big rotating bar (what is that?) that goes around the city is like the sun. It rises in the East and sets in the West. 

The reason I bring this up is because Hover city is very complicated and difficult to get your bearings in. I've been playing the alpha for a few months and it is only recently that I've begun to have the map memorized. I think the fact that you can't refer to anything contributes to the problem. I'll be in the game chat or on teamspeak asking another player "where are you?". All they can say is " uh...by the orange thingy....sort of near that one race...you know.". Now I know that it is in the plan to have everything scannable but I don't think that the Hover Language Barrier is the only problem.

While I'm against a mini map because I don't think it would help, I am for a 3D map of the city in a pause menu. But I also see how that could be very difficult. Even if that was the plan it's best to wait till the city is finished before mapping it.

Something you wouldn't have to wait for is naming things, and I mean everything. Buildings, roads, races, districts, highways, tunnels, bars, stores, name it all, take a 'night off', get drunk and make up stories and lore for Hover City.